Add to clipboard  |  Share  |  Email  |  Print      

  • Grand Council Treaty #3 represents the 28 signatories to the document known as Treaty No 3 signed on Oct 3, 1873 (26 First Nations in NW Ontario and 2 First Nations in SE Manitoba)
  • Buffalo Point, Lac Seul, Sagkeeng (Fort Alexander) and Saugeen are not actual members of Grand Council Treaty #3 but since the Grand Council is the treaty administrant, it works closely with these non-affiliated First Nations
  • Treaty #3 area covers 55,000 sq miles with a population of approx 25,000 members (almost half live on First Nation reserves)
  • Communities are grouped by belonging to one of 3 Tribal Councils: Anishinabeg of Kabapikotawangag Resource Council, Bimose Tribal Council, and Pwi-Di-Goo-Zing Ne-Yaa-Zhing Advisory Services
  • Current Ogichidaa (Grand Chief) Francis Kavanaugh, is a Sturgeon Clan member from Naotkamegwanning First Nation and served as Grand Chief from 1997-99

Organization: Grand Council Treaty 3  
Phone Numbers: 807-548-4214
Toll-Free: 1-800-665-3384
Fax: 807-548-5041
c/o Grand Council Treaty #3
Main Station, PO Box 1720
Kenora, ON
P9N 3X7
Street Address:
Office of the Grand Chief
237 Airport Rd
Intersection: Airport Rd and Johnson Rd
Accessibility: Wheelchair Accessible    Wheelchair Accessible
Hours: Mon-Fri 9 am-4:30 pm
Executives: Francis Kavanaugh - Grand Chief
807-548-4214 ext 641 *
Gary Allen - Executive Director, Administrative Services
807-548-4214 ext 214 *
Public Contacts: Amanda Freeman - Administrative and Political Assistant
807-548-4214 ext 224 *
Service Description: Serves as a political organization to protect, preserve and enhance Treaty and Aboriginal rights of First Nations across Treaty #3 territory

Located at Airport Rd near Johnson Rd

Serves as a political organization to protect, preserve and enhance Treaty and Aboriginal rights of First Nations across Treaty #3 territory
  • Assists all member communities in their quest for inherent jurisdiction, sovereignty, nation-building and traditional governance
  • Advocates to improve quality of life for all members in areas of education, lands and resources, health, governance, and justice

Represents the communities in the following departments:
  • Child care
  • Culture and citizenship
  • Economic development
  • Education
  • Health
  • Housing/infrastructure
  • Internal and external relations
  • Justice
  • Natural resources
  • Social services
  • Territorial Planning
  • Trapping
  • Youth and recreation

Services and Programs:

Fees: None
Application: Call for information
Eligibility / Target Population: Members of First Nation communities in the Treaty #3 territory
Languages: English * Interpretive Services
Language Notes: Cree, Oji-Cree, Ojibway; available upon request
Area Served:
District of Kenora, District of Rainy River  
See Also: Advocacy and Social Action for Indigenous Peoples
Youth Centres

This information was last completely updated on January 8, 2019

Suggest an Update

© 2018, 211 Ontario North – Lakehead Social Planning Council

North West LHIN