Add to clipboard  |  Share  |  Email  |  Print      

Organization: Ontario. Ministry of Finance - Northern Ontario - Thunder Bay - Provincial Land Tax Office - Provincial Land Tax Deferral Program for Low-Income Seniors and Low-Income Persons with Disabilities  
Phone Numbers: 1-866-400-2122
TTY: 1-888-321-6774
c/o Ministry of Finance - Provincial Land Tax
PO Box 58
Thunder Bay, ON
P7C 0A5
Street Address:
500 Donald St E
Thunder Bay
Intersection: Donald St E and May St N
Location: City Hall
Accessibility: Wheelchair Accessible    Wheelchair Accessible
Hours: Hours not specified
Service Description: Located on Donald St E in Thunder Bay

  • Provides a partial deferral on provincial land tax and education tax for low-income seniors and low-income persons with disabilities which is applied to the tax increase in the current year (not to any outstanding taxes)
  • Provincial land tax is a property tax on land located in non-municipal areas which helps to support the local share of a number of services in these areas

  • Fees: None
    • Complete and sign the application which can be downloaded here
    • Mail or drop off the application in person
    • The deadline for submitting applications is February 28 of the year following the taxation year to which the application relates

    • Low-income Seniors must provide proof of age and receipt of an increment paid under the Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS)
    • Low-income Persons with Disabilities must provide proof of receipt of assistance paid under the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) Act
    Eligibility / Target Population:
    • Low-income seniors 65 years of age or older or low-income persons with disabilities who owned a residential/farm property that was used as their principal residence for at least one year preceding the application
    • If property is jointly held or co-owned with another person who is not their spouse, both people must qualify to receive the tax deferral
    Languages: English * French
    Area Served:
    Algoma, Barrie & Area, Bolton Caledon, Bramalea, Brampton, Brant, Burlington, Cambridge–North Dumfries, Chatham – Kent, City of Thunder Bay, Cochrane, Collingwood & Area, District of Kenora, District of Rainy River, District of Thunder Bay, Dufferin, Durham North East, Durham West, East Mississauga, East York, Elgin, Etobicoke, Grey and Bruce, Guelph–Puslinch, Haldimand Norfolk, Haliburton County and City of Kawartha Lakes, Halton Hills, Hamilton, Huron and Perth, James and Hudson Bay Coast, Kingston, Kitchener–Waterloo–Wellesley–Wilmot–Woolwich, Lanark, Leeds & Grenville, London and Middlesex, Midland, Penetanguishene & Area, Milton, Muskoka, Niagara, Niagara North West, Nipissing–Temiskaming, North Etobicoke, Malton, West Woodbridge, North Lanark/North Grenville, North West Mississauga, North York, Northern, Northumberland County, Oakville, Orillia & Area, Ottawa, Oxford and Norfolk, Peterborough City and County, Prescott/Russell, Quinte, Renfrew County, Rural Frontenac, Lennox & Addington, Rural Hastings, Sarnia – Lambton, Scarborough, Scarborough North, Scarborough South, South Etobicoke, South Simcoe, South West Mississauga, Stormont/Dundas/Glengarry, Sudbury–Manitoulin–Parry Sound, Toronto, Wellington, Windsor – Essex, York - Toronto, York Region  
    See Also: Financial Assistance for Seniors

    This information was last completely updated on March 16, 2018

    Suggest an Update

    © 2018, 211 Ontario North – Lakehead Social Planning Council

    Updated March 16, 2018
    Suggest an Update

    Find Similar Services

    North West LHIN